Pomfrett Cottage Nursery


Attendance & Fees
Registration Form
Nursery Uniform
Term Dates
Contact Us
Job Vacancies

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a part of our learning programme during each session within our setting.

As a registered child care provider we work closely with Surrey Early Years & Education Team to ensure that we deliver the Foundation Stage Curriculum to a high standard. All of the children that attend our setting have a Learning Journal which is used to record their daily activities and achievements by a nominated key person. 

There are seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in early years settings. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three areas, the prime areas, are:

communication and language;

physical development; and

personal, social and emotional development

We also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:



understanding the world; and

expressive arts and design